greenlif3

live the life you love, love the life you live <3

Organic Red Velvet Cake Recipe April 4, 2011

So of all the cakes out there, I would have to say Red Velvet is one of my favorites. I figured, there has to be a way of making it without all the food coloring and non healthy ingredients. So i feel this recipe will taste good, and have you thinking healthier!

note: you don’t have to substitute the food coloring for beets, or any of the ingredients for regular baking items. You can mix and match to how you like it, it will make it more enjoyable for you!

Frosting recipe is at the bottom.

Ingredients:
6 organic beets, boiled for 40 minutes, and then cooled, peeled, and chopped coarsely
1/2 cup organic applesauce
1/2 cup organic butter, softened
1 1/2 cups organic sugar
2 eggs, preferably organic and free-range
1 tsp. organic vanilla extract
1 Tb. vinegar or lemon juice
1 cup organic plain yogurt
2 Tb. organic cocoa powder or organic raw chocolate powder
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
2 cups organic spelt flour or all purpose flour or cake flour, sifted
1 tsp. Himalayan or sea salt

 

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and flour two 9 inch round layer pans. Combine chopped cooked beets and applesauce in a blender and blend until smooth. It should look like this:

In a large mixing bowl in an electric mixer, cream together butter and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition. Add vanilla, and then add the beet mixture, mixing well. Add the vinegar and the yogurt and mix well again.

In a separate bowl, mix the cocoa or chocolate powder, baking soda, flour, and salt together. Add to the wet ingredients and mix until well blended.

Pour batter into prepared pans and bake for approximately 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in pans on a wire rack for 5 minutes before removing from pans and allowing to cool completely. When the cakes are cool, you may frost them.

Red Velvet Cake Frosting (not a traditional cream cheese but a healthier organic cream one)

Ingredients:
6 Tb. organic spelt flour or all-purpose flour
1 cup water or organic milk
1 cup organic butter
1 cup organic sugar
1 tsp. organic vanilla extract

Directions:
Bring flour and water to a boil, reduce heat, and stir constantly until thick and slightly clear. Cool in the refrigerator for several hours or overnight. Cream together butter, sugar, and vanilla. Add the flour mixture and continue to beat until fluffy. Keep the frosting refrigerated before use.

I really enjoyed this cake. I hope you do too. Any other recipes you love that are healthier, let me know, Id love to post them!

 

22 Responses to “Organic Red Velvet Cake Recipe”

  1. […] my love for Organic cake recipes does not stop at Red Velvet Cake. I enjoy Cheese Cake, perhaps more than Red Velvet. The mixture of cheese and cream adds so much […]

  2. Nancy Says:

    I can NOT wait to try this!

  3. alissa Says:

    ok i was really excited to try this but it was pretty much a disaster not sure if my beats were too big but i only used 5 but it was way too dense & didnt rise so then i tryed with one large beat and it turned out a little better more cake like any sugestions

  4. Leopoldo Rich Says:

    I love to bake some cake recipes because they taste yummy.`

    <a href="Our new blog page
    http://www.prettygoddess.com/index.php?board=3.0

  5. Hello, this weekend is nice in support of me, because this occasion i am reading this impressive educational post here at my residence.

  6. Ellefrance Says:

    Hi!:) thanks for posting this amazing and healthier recipe. I’m looking forward to make it. I have a question though. In the directions you mentioned vinegar, however I didn’t see it in the list of ingredients. I would love I know which kind of vinegar & how much.
    Thanks for sharing this delicious cake recipe & thanks in advance for your response to the vinegar question 🙂

  7. Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one
    and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?

    If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I gget so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

    • GreenLif3 Says:

      Hello,

      Sorry for the late reply on this. I do get a number of spam comments…but most of the time my good comments will be pushed into the spam folder, then I will have to approve it and take it out from there. So I would say it is about 50-50 on the number on here. I am unsure of any plug-ins that we could attach…I am still finding my way around wordpress. Sorry, I wish I was an expert on this sort of thing. Thanks for checking in my blog, and I hope you have a good day!

  8. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your further post thank you
    once again.

  9. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and interesting, and without
    a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something which too few people are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for
    something relating to this.

  10. This is really interesting, You’re an excessively skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and stay up for in the
    hunt for more of your excellent post. Also, I
    have shared your web site in my social networks

  11. boe Says:

    This is indeed a great recipe! Can i know how u make the red velvet crumble for decorations?
    I am wondering if it is the same body for the cake or it is another kind of texture, such as cupcake/muffin recipe?

    Many thanks for your reply.

  12. I am sure this article has touched all the internet people, its really really nice
    piece of writing on building up new blog.

  13. Emily Says:

    There is definately a lot to find out about this topic.
    I like all of the points you made.

  14. treat acne Says:

    I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all site
    owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever
    before.

  15. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts and I am waiting
    for your next post thank you once again.


Leave a Reply

